The Email Technique – yes I just made that term up

Just do it! Easier said than done, right? I don’t know how many times I’ve sat with a document opened, fingers idly on the keyboard, eyes on the text, mind occupied… elsewhere, and next to nothing comes out. Just doing it really is not as easy as it sounds, when it comes to writing. Not for me, at least!

This past week though, I’ve been writing every day. And the week before too, almost every day. Which is far better than I usually have managed! And you know what’s behind that improvement?

It’s silly, really. But I found that I have a far easier time getting writing done if I don’t actually do it in that large document. It’s daunting, somehow. Seeing all those pages, seeing that blank page, seeing the page number which always is lower than I’d wish, it really is a hindrance to me.

So what I’ve started doing is writing myself emails. Sometimes it’ll just be a few sentences, sometimes a few paragraphs, but then I just click send – the mail is sent to myself and instead of constantly going back to reread what I just wrote, and thinking too much, I can mentally put it behind me and get on to writing the next bit. Then, of course, I transfer the text to the main document, where all comes together. But I have almost completely stopped writing the initial text there, it just takes me too long, I get stuck thinking too much, worrying or rewriting, instead of just moving on.

So, if you who read this also have trouble with overthinking when writing, getting stuck when all you really need to do is keep going, I really would recommend trying doing the same. Write, just a paragraph, and then click send. Once it is sent you don’t need to read it again, over and over, it’s out of sight, out of mind. And perhaps best of all, you don’t actually have to see that big, daunting document with tons of pages needing to be filled. It’s just that little email. It doesn’t matter if it’s not perfect, it’ll all need be revised afterwards anyway, so just move on!

Anyone else got any good techniques for how to keep going and not get stuck?

One thought on “The Email Technique – yes I just made that term up

Leave a Reply

