Just a Dream – Uluru

Just another dream

***

Uluru. Ayers rock. A stunning monolith, a mountain carrying echoes of the past. I was there for real, once almost twenty years ago. Tonight I visited again, though only in a dream. I climbed not to the top, for it was too tall and I did not wish to go against the wishes of the Aboriginal community. A short distance I climbed though, just at the foot of the mountain, and that was enough.

As I slowly made my way up the stony slope I came across an odd opening. The width of a hand or less, a crack in the red stone leading to a cavern. I went down on my knees and looked inside.

There were offerings within. Items both old and new, cheap and expensive alike, some left by native hands and some brought by outsiders. So many offerings it almost looked cluttered in there, but still it warmed my heart to see. I smiled as I started to make my way back down.

uluru_ayers_rock_australia.jpg

2 thoughts on “Just a Dream – Uluru

    1. I wish I could take credit for it! 😀 I do have my own photos of Uluru somewhere… or rather my mother does, and not yet in digital form, so I had to settle for this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

