I want to speak/Shedding skin

I want to speak of dreams. Those of you who follow this blog might have noticed that now and then I offer up a dream, setting out into the light that which otherwise would be locked inside my sleepy head. What my purpose is to posting dreams I am not quite sure of myself – surely dreams are a personal matter and not of interest to the rest of the world?

Still, I want to speak of them. Since I was a child, dreams have been an important part of my life. Of my identity and understanding of my own consciousness, and sometimes of the beyond.

Sometimes I get the urge to write more seriously about dreams too, explain what I have learned over years of studying my own. There is so much to say, I barely know where to begin.

Perhaps I should start with that which I woke up from this morning.

 

*

Few knew what had happened. Few remembered the violent, near cataclysmic breakdown of reality that had occurred that night. Much had been at stake, perhaps even everything, but we had survived. By the skin of our teeth, a morning had come. 

Those who did not possess the ability to see were oblivious. People woke up, went outside, went to work, not knowing what we had just lived through. I staggered out through a door, came out onto the street, exhausted. The struggle, the fight of last night, it had been all too real. 

Two women stood there, speaking casually over a bicycle. One of them glanced at me, and I remembered her. Knew that she knew. The other woman was oblivious, she chattered happily of nothing of importance. The one who remembered, I wished to speak to her. My mind was overflowing with impressions, memories, experiences. 

She was as shook up as I was, I could tell. A little pale, a little weak, exhausted and perhaps terrified. But to her friend, the one who was unable to remember, she said nothing. 

I looked down at my hands. The skin was melting away, exposing muscles, blood vessels, bones. It didn’t hurt. A glance at the others around, and I saw the same was happening to them. Slowly, one by one, they started to notice. It should have been unsettling, but it wasn’t. After all that had happened, we were shedding our skin. New would come. 

Leave a Reply

