Here Comes the Night

At some point in my younger teens I got a cd with music by Pugh Rogefeldt. I fell in love with it almost instantly, a listened to it constantly for I don’t know how long! One of the songs I loved dearly was Här kommer natten (“here comes the night”). I must admit, I never really listened much to the lyrics back then, perhaps I was just too young to care?

This morning at around 3:30 when I couldn’t sleep I went up and turned on my PC. I took a stroll to youtube and came across Miss Li‘s version of the song. I clicked play, and listened. And completely lost my mind. Not only did it bring back the old appreciation of the song, it made me see it in a completely new light.

 

Go on, listen to it! Youtube it, listen to both the original and Miss Li’s version.

And, if you happen to be of the old norse faith… Send a thought to the Nótt, the goddess of Night. If you understand Swedish, listen to the lyrics and think about it. There’s a lot more to it than I ever grasped back as a teenager.

Go on, listen to it!

Leave a Reply

