First Draft in Progress

Having come nearly halfway into the first draft I’ve been working on since this spring, I am starting to see what I’m doing better now compared to my earlier attempts. And while I am nowhere near finishing I still feel it proper to acknowledge the lessons learned, mainly to keep myself from forgetting them.

 

It feels like crap.

And that’s alright. It’s a first draft, it gets to be crap.

 

Don’t look back.

Don’t even read what’s been written earlier on unless you have to look something up, the risk of getting stuck in editing or feeling bad because it’s ‘crap’ (see above point) is too big. Just carry on, move forwards. There will be time to edit later.

 

Work on it every day.

As far as possible, that is. I don’t have a word quota but I do have the goal of doing something with it every day, to keep it moving and avoiding getting stuck.

 

Ignore bad thoughts. 

The thoughts will come, so one better learn to just ignore them. Right now it doesn’t matter what the end result will be, if it’ll get published or not, if it’ll get good reviews or not, so whatever that nagging voice says at the back of your head is really irrelevant. It might be right, it might be wrong, it doesn’t matter. The only thing that matters in there here and now is carrying on.

 

Learning while doing.

Don’t be afraid of making mistakes. Take note of them and try to do better next time. The more lessons learned during the first draft, the less risk of doing them again during the second draft, no? Don’t beat yourself up over the mistakes, just look at them and learn.

 

IT STILL FEELS LIKE CRAP!

AND THAT’S ALRIGHT! KEEP GOING ANYWAY!

 

 

Words of wisdom? Hah. No, not really. Once I reach the end of the first draft I might re-do this little list, finding what I thought today lacking! We shall see. For now I am strangely happy with where I am in the writing process. I see faults and things that need to be changed, so much that needs to be rewritten entirely and even characters that might need to be removed or added. I see it and know I’ll have to fix it. Later, that’ll be for the second draft. There is no use editing the start a thousand times when there’s no middle or end to carry on with. So it’s fine.

 

Now… dinner. Let’s see if that chicken curry pie is even edible.

 

 

3 thoughts on “First Draft in Progress

  1. So… what are you writing, anyway? I enjoy reading pretty much everything, but when I write there is a strong tendency toward the speculative genres — science fiction and the odd bit of fantasy. My imagination likes to follow lines of extrapolation until it lingers just beyond the bounds that separate that which is possible from that which isn’t. I sense an almost palpable tension there, a force that focuses and filters the bewildering complexity of the human condition down into a condensed form that more readily accepts the confinement of written words on a page.

    The truth is, writing a story without a fantastical element feels like a much more difficult task than writing one with. Other authors feel the opposite, I’m sure, but to me it is something of a crutch. I would probably learn a lot by trying my hand at a story that can stand on its own two feet. But why do I feel so reluctant?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s much the same here, I too have a fondness for fantasy and sci-fi. There’s just something about exploring possibilities of what could be without the confines of reality that appeals to me. It tickles my lust for exploration and experimentation! As for the current project, the story takes place in the far future so I suppose one should call it sci-fi! It’s not so much “science” as it is just “fiction” though, so personally I don’t really think the terminology fits. In fact it is very very little “science” as I am absolutely horrendously bad at writing anything tech related!

      … yes, it’s probably quite stupid to even attempt to write a sci-fi novel if you can’t manage at least a basic level of tech talk, but there you have it. Call me ambitious!

      I would love to read something of yours sometimes too by the way! Are you working on anything at the moment?

      Like

      1. Sci-fi doesn’t have to be technical, just look at the most outstanding examples of it — Star Wars, Asimov’s Foundation series, Ender’s Game, etc. Even Star Trek usually only mumbles some technoblather in order to tell the audience that something prevents “solution by transport beam”. Personally, I enjoy it when a story presents an interesting scientific or technical idea, but it’s nothing that I miss when that element isn’t present.

        I have a handful of writing projects going on, none of which really seem to be inspiring enough of my interest right now. I’ve got a nice programming project that is absorbing the time I would otherwise spend writing, so it’s not entirely bad.

        You asked, and now I’ve done a bad thing and placed a PDF at http://user.it.uu.se/~marlu734/MH_ShortStoryCollection.pdf . I *may* have sent some of these stories away for publication, ahem, so the file may have to disappear before too long…

        Like

Leave a Reply

