Dive

As I stood by the shrine last night, in the darkness of night and the cold of snow, my gaze lingered on Nott’s flame. There was movement in my mind, fast and passionate like a ship on violent waves on a great ocean.

As a child I loved the water. But rather than swimming at the surface I always wanted down under, down into the stillness of depths below. I would hold my breath and dive, wishing I needn’t ever come up for air.

In the darkness of night by the snow covered shrine, I dived.

 

Leave a Reply

