Shadows

Five of us walked down a woodland path, deep in the darkness of night.

Five?

 

 

How odd. I looked at our shadows stretching ahead, and counted again. Five. But wasn’t there just four of us? I looked down the row of companions and counted – one two three and me, that’s four. I looked down at the shadows and counted again – one two three four and five.

Puzzled I looked behind us, no one was there. A single lonesome lampost in the distant, all else was dark.

I counted again, didn’t trust my mind to have gotten it right. Spoke each name in my thoughts and looks both left and right.

One two three and four.

One two three four and five.

 

How odd, I thought. I wonder who the fifth is.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

