Starting Yoga

For the first time ever I have taken up yoga for real.

“For real”, yes that sounds terrible. But what I mean of course is taking an actual class with an actual teacher, rather than just doing it by myself and having no clue whatsoever if what I do is right or wrong.

I signed up for a beginners’ class of ashtanga yoga and boy am I glad I did. While I found none of the positions difficult (well, my flexibility could have been better, I’ll admit) , my body is in such lousy shape that I am not yet able to actually stay in those positions for more than a short moment. Then my muscles start trembling, and then shaking, and then cramping.

The foot cramp was the worst in today’s class, and lasted all throughout the standing asanas. My feet cramped, ached so badly that I could barely stand.

However bad my physical condition is at the moment, the experience was magnificent. From the moment I walked into the warm and sparsely decorated room to the moment of leaving I was as in another state of being. A meditative state where I was all there, all present, yet at the same time in the beyond. It wasn’t on purpose and I had not expected it, nor was it brought on by the teacher – who said next to nothing about the meditative aspect of yoga.

This has not happened when I have fumbled around with yoga-like exercises on my own, so I am quite in awe. It felt as though I had come home.

 

Now to hope that the muscles in my feet accept the practice and stop cramping, because &%#&#! That hurt!

Leave a Reply

